Matthew Kellway defeats Maria Minna in Beaches-East York

Since 1993, Beaches-East York has been represented by Liberal MP Maria Minna. On May 2 that all changed as New Democrat Matthew Kellway pulled off a stunning victory in the 2011 General Election.
Kellway, who consistently told his constituents that no one would work harder for them than himself, finished the race well ahead of Minna, with 41.6% of the vote.

“The people of Beaches-East York voted with hope and for change,” said Kellway during his victory speech, which he cleverly pulled out of his ‘left’ pocket.

“We have much to look forward to. Tomorrow we begin the great task of building a great future for us, for our kids and for our community,” he finished.

Minna’s numbers had slowly slipped in the polls as E-Day approached. She seemed a bit surprised by the outcome, but admitted her defeat was part of a broader Liberal issue that swept across the country.

“This was a tsunami…and it’s hard to beat a tsunami that’s going on all around you,” she said after the results were tabbed.

Minna was surrounded by supporters and volunteers throughout the evening who showed both their sadness and disbelief.

When asked if she had any words for Kellway, Minna said that he should “work hard for the people of Beaches-East York as well as for all Canadians across the country.”

The former Liberal incumbent finished with 30.7% of the vote, while Conservative candidate Bill Burrows finished with 22.8%, and Aaron Cameron of the Green Party with 4.6%.

Also impressive was the voter turnout which was 68.2% for a total of 48,604 voters. Voter turnout across the country was 61.4%.

Was this article informative? Become a Beach Metro Community News Supporter today! For 50 years, we have worked hard to be the eyes and ears in your community, inform you of upcoming events, and let you know what and who is making a difference. We cover the big stories as well as the little things that often matter the most. CLICK HERE to support your Beach Metro Community News!

Click here for our commenting guidelines.

Leave a Reply