1997 was the year of the megacity

In 1997 one issue eclipsed all other local concerns – municipal reform. The province  announced that  the six municipalities of Toronto, East York, Scarborough, York, North York and Etobicoke  would become  one ‘megacity’. It was promoted as a cost-cutting measure and a more efficient way of coordinating services and reducing staff for garbage collection, libraries, […]