East York Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee seeking nominations for 2019 award

Nominations are now being sought for this year's Agnes Macphail Award.

The East York Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee is now accepting nominations for the 26th Annual Agnes Macphail Award.

Each nominee must be a resident of the former Borough of East York and an outstanding volunteer leader in community life in areas including, but not limited to: women’s rights, fairness to seniors, criminal justice and penal reform, international peace and disarmament and to adequate housing, health care and education.

Agnes Campbell Macphail (1890-1954) was the first woman elected the House of Commons (1921) and the first seated in the Ontario Legislature (1943). During her years in office, Agnes Macphail forcussed on issues of equality rights and social justice.

Nomination forms are available in public buildings in East York, at library branches in East York and at www.toronto.ca/macphail_award. The deadline for nominations is midnight, Thursday, Feb. 7.

Contributions to the award can be made through The East York Foundation, c/o G. Piercey, 50 Merritt Rd., East York, ON, M4B 3K6.

The Award will be presented on the anniversary of Agnes Macphail’s birth, March 24, at a public ceremony at the East York Civic Centre, starting at 2 p.m.

For more info or a copy of the 2019 Nomination Package, please contact Committee Chair Lorna Krawchuk at LTKrawchuk8@aol.com or call 416-425-4431.

Was this article informative? Become a Beach Metro Community News Supporter today! For 50 years, we have worked hard to be the eyes and ears in your community, inform you of upcoming events, and let you know what and who is making a difference. We cover the big stories as well as the little things that often matter the most. CLICK HERE to support your Beach Metro Community News!