Nine days of public art planned for Main Squared festival

Area musician Bill MacLean entertains an adoring crowd at Main Square’s 100in1Day community fair Saturday, June 4, 2016. PHOTO: Anna Killen

East End Arts presents Main Squared, a free nine-day arts and community festival that will animate and explore the public square at the corner of Main Street and Danforth Avenue from Aug. 26 to Sept. 3, 2017.

Blending contemporary art and community art projects, the Cultural Hotspot Festival will feature art installations, interactive activities, workshops, performances, and more.

Think: live music, life-size collage making, puppet performances, historical walks, and opportunities to explore the contemporary work of artists considering the historic idea of a “public square”, curated by Labspace Studio.

See the schedule at http://mainsquared.com/schedule/. Events are scheduled for Saturday, Aug. 26, 12 to 8 p.m., Sunday, Aug. 27, 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday, Aug. 28, 1 to 4 p.m.,  Tuesday, Aug. 29, 4 to 8:30 p.m., Wednesday, Aug. 30, 1 to 4 p.m., Thursday, Aug. 31, 3 to 6 p.m., Friday, Sept. 1, 2 to 9 p.m., Saturday, Sept. 2, 11 a.m. to 4 p.m., Sunday, Sept. 3, 12 to 4 p.m.


Did you enjoy this article? Become a Beach Metro Community News Supporter today! For 50 years, we have worked hard to be the eyes and ears in your community, inform you of upcoming events, and let you know what and who is making a difference. We cover the big stories as well as the little things that often matter the most. CLICK HERE to support your Beach Metro Community News!

Click here for our commenting guidelines.

Leave a Reply

*